Disappearing messages in Telegram
Telegram does not have a separate disappearing message mode (unlike Whatsapp, which we wrote about here), but it has two different ways to send deleted content.
1. Secret chat. To activate it, you need to go to the profile of the person with whom you want to create a secret chat, press the button “More” and select “Start Secret Chat”.
Messages from it cannot be forwarded, you can set up a timer inside to delete – any message will automatically disappear after the set time has elapsed, and if the interlocutor takes a screenshot, you will receive a notification about it.
Interestingly, the secret chat is only available from mobile devices. And if you and your friend are preparing a surprise for your wife for her birthday, it’s better to discuss the details in it so that she doesn’t accidentally find out about the gift ahead of time by reading messages from a tablet or the web version of Telegram.
2. Disappearing media. This feature only works in private chats and is not available in groups. When you send a picture or video, press and hold the send button, set the timer for deletion in the open menu.
The image in the chat will be presented with blurry preview and disappear with beautiful animation. In case the recipient takes a screenshot, you will also see a notification about this.